The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

It is thought by some people that English may one day be the most dominant language of communication and wipe out all other present languages. Having one language would certainly aid understanding and economic growth but it may also result in a disappearance of diverse cultures and loss of tourism. One major benefit of having one global language is that it would enable greater understanding between countries. If everyone spoke the same language, there would be complete understanding between not only countries but all people throughout the world. This will help in the smooth exchange of information and ideas and promote learning. Another reason that one language would be advantageous is that it would help economic growth. With all people speaking the same language, there would be fewer barriers, and therefore trade would flourish resulting in a healthier world economy. On the other hand, one obvious disadvantage of having a single dominant world language is the disappearance of all other languages and cultures. Each culture is unique with its own way of life and own perspectives of the world which would all be lost if there were only one language. It would further result in the collapse of tourism because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure if all countries had the same language and similar cultures. In conclusion, while there are plus points to having a language predominate over others such as easy flow of information and economic growth, there are also drawbacks such as loss of diverse cultures and local languages which may destroy the present rich heritage of the world.