Using the examples of the Venus flytrap and the sundew, describe two ways that carnivorous plants get their nutrients.

Because it is pertinent for children to know the distinction between good and bad on time, punishment is commonly viewed as a useful vehicle required to achieve this objective. In my opinion, I completely agree with this viewpoint that punishing children is vital to teaching them to distinguish what is wrong from what is right. The manner of punishment I advocate for erring children are reprimanding them verbally and denying them certain privileges over a period of time. I believe punishment is a viable tool that is necessary in training a child to differentiate between what is acceptable and inappropriate in society. The compelling reason for this is because when children receive punishment for doing something that is wrong, they instinctively put in effort to make amends as it feels wrong to continue in that way, knowing it will attract similar reaction the next time they repeat such action. Thus, learning from their own experience of how unpalatable punishments are, they subconsciously decide not to tow that path again. One major punishment I recommend to parents and tutors for their wards, which is needed to raise children that are able to tell the difference between good and bad, is through scolding them when necessary. In other words, whenever children do something stupid, parents should not excuse them, but rather constructively use words to correct them. Meanwhile, words are especially potent in this guise as they are capable of helping to mould character. Children want their parents approval and praise, and if they are not given, they make a conscious effort to earn it by doing what will get them in their parents’ good book. Furthermore, depriving children of some privileges, which they used to enjoy, when they misbehave is another effective way of teaching them the difference between right and wrong. For instance, depriving teenagers of that extra vacation or game time because they have betrayed their guardians’ trust through sheer act of disobedience has been shown by research to work, considering children will always do things that would afford them the luxury of enjoying these occasions. In conclusion, it is often thought that punishment is a veritable way to correct children in order to learn to separate good from evil. It is my view that this is absolutely imperative because it gives them the personal experience that will equip them to make right choices. Although there are various punishments that could work, verbally correcting children and depriving them of some benefits are two leading approaches of actualizing this goal without causing any harm to their young impressionable minds.