Using technology in teaching learning during the lock down. Do you agree that technology is helping teaching learning during covid or you disagree.

COVID19 has led a shift from offline classes to online classes around the world. Technology has played a vital role in imparting education across the world. Hence, I strongly believe that technology has immensely helped the learning & teaching process during the lockdown. In the initial days of the pandemic last year, speculations surrounding the shift of offline classes to an online platform. Educational institutes were quick to accept Zoom as the platform to deliver lessons, but doubts were mainly related to the way exams were to be conducted and assessed. Ed Tech companies were quick to identify the gap and used latest technologies such as AI to monitor the eye movement of the student while appearing for an exam remotely. The platform was smart enough to warn the student in case of any unusual eye or body movement. I believe this technology to be more efficient than a human surveillance in offline environment. For example: In offline settings, invigilator was not able to focus on each and every student while the technology monitors every student’s action. This promotes a better and more authentic test environment for students. Another area in which technology has made its mark, is the way in which assignments are assessed and students grasp a particular topic or a chapter. Technology is being used to identify the copied assignments, which sometimes can be left out if manually assessed. It helps the teacher to reject the assignments and grade the students accordingly. Another recent innovation in Ed tech has led to identification of student’s problem areas. This technology identifies the areas in which student is struggling the most while doing the practice tests. System notifies the lecturer about each and every student’s problem areas and enables him to assign more practice tests to the students. All these technologies have helped teachers to pay attention on every individual, which was otherwise a tedious task. In conclusion, I would reinstate my opinion that technology has definitely helped in learning and teaching during the lockdown. It has successfully imitated the offline learning environment to a great extend in a very short time.