Some people think watching TV is bad for children in every way. Others think TV has positive effects on children, as they develop to grow up.

Some opine that watching TV develops children positively, whereas others think the opposite. This essay intends to discuss both viewpoints. In my personal opinion television viewing may actually enhance children's intellectual development, but if it is done in limit and the programs children watch are selected wisely by parents. There are many reasons why some people say that watching TV is beneficial for children. Firstly, watching the right kinds of shows increases children's knowledge and so they do better in academics. According to a research, young children who spent a few hours a week watching educational programs such as Sesame Street and Curious George had higher academic test scores 3 years later than those who did not watch educational programs. Secondly, children can be motivated to play sports by watching some sports on TV. Finally, children can learn about different cultures and lifestyles of the world through TV programs. On the other hand, those who say that watching TV is detrimental for children, give their reasons as follows. Firstly, it impacts their health negatively. It reduces their physical activity and turns them into couch potatoes. Apart from causing obesity, too much screen time is also bad for their eyesight. It also impacts their social development as they do not get time to play and socialize. Finally, if the content they watch is not monitored, they may watch shows full of violence and vulgarity, which may be bad for them and affect their psyche. I believe that watching TV is beneficial for children if done in limit. The effects also depend on the content and genre of the programs. Therefore, parents should set the TV time of the children and also select the programs for them. They should preferably watch TV with them, especially educational shows as these may seem boring to the children otherwise. To sum up, I reiterate my view that TV is on the whole advantageous for children. However, the effects of television viewing depend on the program content, genre, and the time limit allocated to TV viewing