Using a computer everyday can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

In recent times, the use of computer and other technological devices have become a huge part of our daily activities. Some people are of the belief that this trend has massive detrimental effects on young people and I agree. To begin with, the use of computers has negatively impacted the health situations of people, especially children. Early exposure to digital screens has been reported to damage a very important part of the eye. An overwhelming number of researches carried out by the World Health Organisation have revealed that the recent proliferation in the use of glasses by school pupils less than the age of 10 is as a result of staring at computers for several hours. Furthermore, obesity is also on the rise because children would rather surf the internet than go out and engage in physical activities with friends. In addition, children of today learn a lot of things from the internet – both good and bad - which is accessed via a computer. This is in contrast to when a lot of us were growing up when we relied heavily on our parents for guidance. A report released by the police department revealed that there is a correlation between the advent of computers and the increase in crime rate committed by youths. This is because they have access to violent contents which then inspires them to also engage in similar acts. In conclusion, although the use of computers is here to stay, I am of the view that it would cause more harm than good to teenagers if its use is done too early in life because of the its impact on their health and uncensored content that they might be exposed to.