Write about the following topic. Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Undoubtedly, communication and networking has improved with the advent of computers. Some people believe that constantly using the computers can affect your children in positive ways, however, I am strongly inclined to disagree as it can cause more harm than good to young ones. I shall justify my opinion with the following arguments. To begin with, computers like the personal laptops and tablets make working remotely possible. Hence, most parents who are workers occasionally take their unfinished work tasks home using their laptops. As a result, home time which is supposed to be considered kids time is affected. In other words, parental responsibilities like spending the weekends and evenings with young ones to assist with assignments and chat with them are hardly executed. It is paramount to note that these parental roles are deemed necessary for bond building with kids. A recent study published in Nigeria about the impact of computers in homes concludes that approximately 95% of Nigerian parents own personal computers, out of which, 75% are workers who sometimes work from home to achieve certain deadlines. Consequently, children indirectly suffer from lack of attention from their parents. Furthermore, computers that are fully connected to the internet are usually addictive and distracting. So many people testify to getting carried away with social media like Instagram and Facebook that they forget to prepare lunch or dinner for the kids and as a result, end up ordering restaurant foods and snacks for the children. This is not healthy for kids and can be avoided by controlling how often they are logged on to social media with their personal computers and the internet. To conclude, while we enjoy the benefits of using personal computers for networking and communication, it is vital to draw our attention to it’s drawbacks and how disastrous it can be for children. Parents need to ensure that they do not get distracted from their parental responsibilities wwhile using the Computers.