. Our personalities are predetermined as result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our characteristic traits. To what extent do you agree?

The personality of an individual has nothing to do with the heredity of a person in fact, it determines the characteristic trait of him. Hence, I believe if a person wants to over- come his deficiencies then he can do it by following certain techniques. This essay will discuss that genes do not carry a person’s personality and one can change his characteristic trait. The genes can carry attitude and behavior which can influence an individual personality but, a child born will develop a personality of his own and parents have nothing to do with it. Parents with aggressive nature may raise a child of his own nature and same is with the parents of polite nature. In filmland, there are a number of famous personalities that come from a conservative-thinking families but, they have made their own personality and are recognized for it. A person can change his characteristic trait which he thinks is not good for him because personalities are developed as a result of the exposure one gets from environment, family etc. If an individual is having a fear of something which is disturbing his mental health and he is getting thoughts of putting his life at risk, he can overcome his fear by consulting a therapist or taking counseling sessions. Similarly, a person can control his temper issues by following different techniques available of internet. To conclude, however, the desire to change personality is uncommon but people wishing to alter their characteristic trait can do it and overcome their deficiencies easily because personalities are not determined by genes.