Urbanization has come with many benefits such as better lifestyle, increased opportunities and overall welfare, but perhaps the biggest upset of the sprouting metropolitan sprawl came when the unprecedented increase in car ownership lead to horrible everyday traffic congestion.

Urbanization has come with many benefits such as better lifestyle, increased opportunities and overall welfare, but perhaps the biggest upset of the sprouting metropolitan sprawl came when the unprecedented increase in car ownership lead to horrible everyday traffic congestion. As a city dweller myself, I completely agree with the statement that says cities are turning into 'one big traffic jam'. Without a doubt, the problem at the heart of every mega city is the problem of roads being overcrowded with cars and various forms of automobiles. This problem is even worse in the third world countries which have sub-standard roads and non-existent public transport to support the mammoth sized populations. To curb this nuisance, governments must employ smart and effective tactics such as stricter car ownership laws and the provision of a high quality and efficient public transport network instead. A model example of a state which has managed to persevere has to be that of Singapore. The tiny coastal state has a very small landmass and a high density of population compared to its size. The government of Singapore introduced strong laws and high taxes for car ownership and also provided a wide variety of efficient, state of the art, and model public transports methods for its citizen to use instead of private cars. The result was an astounding success as Singapore began to experience much less traffic congestion and traffic related problems. It is therefore very visible by the aforementioned example that a state can bring about the change needed to tackle the ever-growing issue of traffic congestion in cities. By enacting stricter laws and investing heavily in public transport all cities will eventually be able to eradicate the terrible traffic jams that cause such big problems in cities throughout the world.