‘ Unsurprisingly Copenhagen came out on top in the latest report on cycling usage. Cycling is a way of life in the Danish capital and most residents (62%) prefer to commute by bike rather than car. That’s because it boasts a great network of cycle paths and bridges that make it safe and speedy for cyclists to zip through the city. ( Source: The Lonely Planet 2018 ) Should governments spend more money on cycle paths as a way of reducing traffic congestion?

I highly disagree with the notion of the stem that building dedicated cycle paths will reduce traffic congestion. There are millions of cars running over the roads every other day and they are helping tens of millions of people reach their destination without facing any hurdles. However, very often we see that cars are not able to go forward because of some obstacles on the roads and this causes discomfort to the passengers and passerbys. Now, there are several reasons behind traffic jams. One of them is damaged roads. When a road is damaged, the cars cannot move smoothly over it hence, they have to slow down and traffic congestion happens. Therefore, the government could spend money on making the roads better and wider. Moreover, impatience and lack of skill among drivers is also a factor in a traffic jam. The inadept drivers often break the traffic rules and this disrupts the way cars move on the road. Hence, the administration shouldn't provide a driving license to people who are bad at driving and should punish those who don't follow the traffic rules and regulations. On the other hand, establishing cycle paths to reduce traffic congestion may seem impressive on paper but, has certain flaws. First of all, cycles are open vehicles so, they might be fun riding on a clear day. However, it is impossible to ride a bicycle under the scorching heat of the sun or when it is raining cats and dogs. So, essentially, building cycle paths aren't a great way to reduce traffic jam. As we won't be able to ride them throughout the 12 months of the year. I live in a busy city and every day I used to get late for college as the number of cars in my city is high and the roads are way too much narrow. Thankfully, our city's mayor realized this issue and renovated all the major routes. Accordingly, traffic jams in our city decreased significantly. To summarize, building cycle routes are not the ideal way to reduce traffic jams as there are better methods than that.