University students must pay all tuition fees, because it benefits mostly them individually, rather than the society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

The tuition fees in many American Universities are very high. It is argued that the student should be solely responsible to pay them as they reap the resulting benefits more than the society. This essay agrees with the aforementioned hypothesis and presents a couple of arguments in favor of the same. Once the university studies are completed, most of the students simply go the corporate way and bag a job of his or her dreams. A degree helps an individual earn a living and live a lifestyle of their choice. However, it has been observed that these individuals do little or nothing to give back to the community other than pay the taxes. There are very few students who are exceptional and end up inventing a product which benefits the society as a whole. But such cases are few and infrequent. It would be unfair to ask the tax payers to pay for the education of selfish individuals. The tax-payers money can be utilized in a better way. For instance, it can be used for building better infrastructure, public health campaigns etc. In conclusion, one should be responsible to pay for something if the benefits are limited to the individual. The collective money of the society cannot be and should not be used for the welfare of certain individuals.