University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying in a foreign country is becoming very popular among university students. As each coin has two sides, studying abroad comes with its own set of pros and cons. This essay will discuss the positive and negative sides of studying abroad and provide evidence as to why advantages of this trend / development outweigh the disadvantages. The main advantage of studying in a foreign country is the opportunity to gain international exposure. International universities have students from all over the world and the opportunity to share knowledge with them broadens a student’s horizon. Similarly, challenges required to face while studying away from home makes a person stronger as well as smarter leading to successful career. For example, when I was studying for my post graduation in USA, I could learn the techniques from all places and gained a lot of experience which helped me in my job. On the other side, homesickness and difficulty to adjust to a totally different culture are the biggest drawbacks of foreign education. Staying away from family and dealing with difficult situations on your own can sometimes be psychologically exhausting and occasionally lead to problems like depression. Crossing a bridge of cultural differences and getting used to an altogether new way of living can be very difficult and take a lot of time. For example, it is very difficult for a pure vegetarian student from a different country to get used to having meat or chicken served in restaurants. In my opinion, studying abroad is a new trend in today’s era. Though it can lead to minor disadvantages like home sickness and culture shock, in my opinion, this is a positive trend that benefits a student’s personal and professional growth.