Labour-saving devices such as dishwashers and communication tools such as computers are supposed to make our lives easier. However, some people argue that these devices only make them more difficult. Does modern technology reduce or increase stress?

Technological development has changed the world and saved an enormous amount of energy in terms of physical efforts. Tools like dishwashers have reduced the stress of an individual and the family as a whole. Also, gadgets such as mobile phones and computers via the internet have immensely improved communication channels. The advent of technology has much reduced physical stress but increased mental. On the one hand, the latest tools brought ease in works that require the physical involvement of humans. Without these tools, one has to hire many labourers, which is a far expensive and time-consuming process. For instance, many human jobs have been replaced by automated cashier machines that work more efficiently and effectively than humans. Also, it is far less expensive as they do not need to go through a training process. Moreover, they do not need holidays or paid holidays. Furthermore, a few decades ago, while conveying a message, one needs to send a person, and one has to bear travelling expensive and wait for days, but nowadays it is just one button away. Thus, from this perspective, modern technology has positively changed our way of life. On the other hand, the excessive use of televisions and watching movies trend in the younger generation has a cathode impact on their mental health. While comparing to the past, when our father and uncles share their childhood stories, we envoy how connected the community was. Also, their fitness level was up to the mark due to mobility. While spending most of the time in isolation nowadays, new terms such as depression and mental health issues have become common. For example, due to the pandemic where one needs to work from home and stay at home most of the time, Ottawa has reported a significant amount of mental health cases than ever before. Hence, keeping in mind these effects, it is safe to say that the latest technology has increased the stress level. In conclusion, though the modern item helps a lot in daily use work, communication and working from home. However, the excessive use and lack of interaction in society have increased the mental stress level of an individual and the family.