University education should be free,

Studying at universities requires students to pay hefty tuition fees, which is not affordable for all students, so according to some, universities ought to be free for all students regardless of their background. In my opinion, I agree with the idea of free education as it greatly benefits both the individuals and society, as will now be discussed. One good reason to abolish university fees is that it gives people, whether they are rich or poor equal rights. At present, poor students who cannot afford to pay fees are deprived of getting a tertiary education. This excludes a significant portion of society and is discriminatory, which can be avoided by getting rid of tuition fees. Another point to consider is that having no fees at university means that students do not need to work at the same time as studying to cover their costs. In the UK, for instance, 75% of all students have to work either full-time or part-time while studying at universities to pay their fees. Free higher education should, therefore, produce better results as students will be able to afford and apply themselves to their studies exclusively. Finally, fee education will benefit society in the long run, for the simple reason that it will open up higher education to a wider section of the population. This will result in an increasing number of educated people. To illustrate, having a greater resource of skilled and knowledgeable professionals will bring greater rewards to society as a whole. Moreover, it will bring more advantages to a country that shows itself to be prosperous and leading in various fields. In conclusion, free university education is a must for any country that values equal rights and one that wishes to advance.