University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages.

More and more youngsters today are opting to pursue higher education in a foreign country. In the last decade or so, there has been an exponential growth in the number of students wanting to graduate abroad. The reasons for the sudden surge can be attributed to many factors. The digital media has played a vital role in giving everyone access to information regarding the universities which are located in a different country. The majority of the students select developed nations like the US, the UK and Canada for their higher studies, as these countries offer a world class platform for research and development. What’s more, a person who has a foreign degree has better career prospects. The decision to move to a different country has its own advantages. It makes you more independent and you are able to make the right choices, as you have a broader view of life. It forces you to come out of your comfort zone and fend for yourself. It makes you smarter and more tolerant. It is a great way to interact with people from different cultures and network. A foreign degree is often considered invaluable by employers, thus giving you an edge over others. As for the downsides, moving to different country which is a world apart from your country could be very challenging initially. Understanding the customs and cultures of the foreign land may be quite challenging for an international student. They may not be familiar with the local etiquettes, and this may land them in embarrassing situations. Often, the cost of living abroad is enormous which leads to financial strain on the family. This may lead to anxiety and the pressure to find a job as soon as one graduates. Sometimes, the absence of loved ones can make some of them homesick and lonely. In turn, this may cause stress and lead to depression. To conclude, there are definitely some downsides to going abroad for higher education. Even so, in my opinion, the advantages of a foreign degree outweigh the disadvantages of having to leave one’s country and people.