University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages? Write at leats 250 words.

Exchange programs are becoming more and more popular within students in University who spend part of their academic program in another country. Among many advantages of this kind of experience, people are able to experience a different culture and learn languages; on the other hand, students may suffer being away from family and friends and there may be high costs involved. In my opinion, studying abroad is worth besides the challenges that the students have to face. A great number of benefits of study abroad programs can be identified. One remarkable advantage of this type of program is the possibility of immersion in a foreign culture. People will have opportunities to know the habits, history and heritage of a different country, which is very rich and will expand their horizons. Moreover, this experience is one of the more efficient ways to learn another language because of the opportunities to practice in real life situations, for example, when ordering food or shopping. Thus, the advantages of a study abroad program are very interesting. In contrast, disadvantages of undertaking part of studies in a foreign country can be found. Feeling homesick is one the the negative sides of studying abroad. Several students become depressed when they face this situation. A second disadvantage of the exchange programs are the costs of them, which may include university fees, living costs, flight tickets, health insurance and they are usually high. Although, there are many advantages in studying abroad, some negative aspects can also be mentioned. In conclusion, an increasing trend of going to another country to study have been observed in the universities. Advantages of these experiences such as the immersion in another culture and language are known, as well some disadvantages such as the difficulties being away from home and paying for the programs. In my personal opinion, the advantages strongly outweigh the disadvantages because even the obstacles will teach the students valuable skills while coping with the problems, becoming after all great life experiences.