In many parts of the world, it is common for one parent to stay at home and raise a new born child while the other works full-time to earn money. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is widely known for one parent to take care of their child full-time, whereas their partner works permanently. Although it can be beneficial in terms of attention and reducing childcare expenses, there are some drawbacks that come with it. To start with, a stay-at-home parent can fully focus on their offspring and assist them to grow healthily. In 2015, for instance, a survey discovered that children who grew up with at least one parent often have better mental and physical well-being, since they generally receive more attention and care at home. Furthermore, as childcare price has increase significantly over the last few years, a full-time parent can reduce their overall costs in the long run, as they have the option to do saving. School performance, lastly, can be increased amongst the offspring, because they have higher attentiveness from their parent. On the other hand, if one parent decides to work permanently, it will cause the offspring to feel one-sided love. According to 'The Economist', 85% of elementary pupils in the NYC private school stated that they are likely to invite the parent who takes care of them full-time to the after school party, as they have known their personalities better than the other. Additionally, less income will be earned since only one person in the household is employed, which causes the overall assets to decrease. In conclusion, despite the obvious benefits of a stay-at-home parent, it can also lead to one love towards the children and a decrease in the household income.