University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more university students are choosing to study abroad. Despite higher university fees, studying in a foreign country will give students a multicultural experience. In my opinion, the multicultural experience outweighs the higher university fees. This experience will help the students during and long after their studies. TO BEGIN WITH, you will be put in the situation to interact and learn in a different language, which will increase your abillity to study and express yourself. For example, when I went to study in Serbia, ten years ago, all the classes where held in Serbian, which helped me to learn the language much faster, and encouraged me to communicate more with my colleagues and local people. Furthermore, socializing with my colleagues led to a better understanding of their way of life and traditions. ON THE OTHER HAND, the main disadvantages are that you are going to live in a foreign country, where you will have to spend more money on accommodation and special student fees. You have to rent an apartment during your stay and pay for all the expenses. Moreover, as a foreign student, you have to pay extra money for your studies, in comparison to local students. For example, when I lived in Beograd, Serbia, I opted to find a rent close to the university because I wanted to save time and money on transport but, the rent was higher in comparison with other parts of the city. However, the biggest expense was the student fee for foreigners, and in order to pay it, I had to work part time. In conclusion, despite all the disadvantages, a big percentage of the students are opting to study abroad. The chance to have this multicultural experience cannot be missed, even though the costs for the studies are higher. From my point of view, you will become a better and a more complete human being if you choose to study abroad and embrace the multicultural experience.