"Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. " Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

"Jack of all trades and master of none" is a saying that is often used in a negative tone. The authors states that the universities should take a more holistic approach when it come to education of a student. This view may stem from the fact that students of today’s age are developing a very constricted mindset of only focussing on one subject and mastering that subject or field in its totality, where as, the modern society demands a more balanced education. Students need to have a broad point of view to better understand and solve modern problems. Studying various courses outside of the field of study will enhance the students ability to solve complex problems that require multiple points of views. A better understanding of a variety of subjects would increase the probability of making better and more informed judgements. For example, a computer science major designing a three dimensional body scanner with a simple understanding of human physiology would have greater chances of success in developing it on its first try. Knowledge is an intangible resource and you can never have enough of it. A person with more comprehensible suit of knowledge will have a more attractive personality simply because he or she would be able to hold better and interesting conversations with people around and that would make them more likable. A broad study of different and unrelated subject would be able to provide a balanced enviroment for students to study in and avoid fatiguing the brain. Generic jobs like PR ot Salesman, need them to be able to keep a client interested and keep a general and interesting conversations to be able to perform better at their jobs. Although having such vast knowledge is good, it should not hamper the main purpose and objective a student. It should not be overpowering to such an extent that it results in the student loosing focus on the main goal of his academic study. This can be prevented by implying some general rules and rationing of time, as well as limiting the number of extra subjects that are irrelevant to the main field of study. In conclusion, a student with a sizable knowledge bank in multiple fields is a better asset for the community and society as a whole. Being Jack of all trades, master of none is better than just being master of one.