Some schools make all students wear uniforms, while other schools allow the students to choose what to wear. Which approach do you think is better for students' overall development? Why?

A number of people are of the opinion that schools’ main functions are to educate children and ready them for their future life. Accordingly, a segment of people advocates that there should be a dress code as a way to help children concentrate on their education. Others counter that giving them options and freedom on clothing prepares them for the future life where they will have to make their own choices. From my point of view, uniforms should be mandatory for freshman and junior years, but free to choose outfits for seniors. The main argument for mandating uniforms is that doing so would remove social pressures on students and would create an academic atmosphere rather than social competition. Thereby, students can differentiate themselves not by the labels on their clothes, but by the scores they achieve on tests. This argument is reinforced by studies demonstrating that institutions which are requiring uniforms experienced fewer incidents of bullying. An important factor is that selecting students by what they wear, characterizes them as vulnerable based on their outward appearance. On the other hand, schools would serve well their pupils by allowing them to dress as they pleased at least in their final year at school. This would provide seniors with a first-hand experience, face the consequences of their own choices and they will taste the reality of being adult and social. Moreover, this allowance would give a shape to their identity; for example, wearing fashionable or dressing to kill might help them to get into the company of those who dress well, but it definitely would not open the doors to a Wall Street lounge. In other words, youngsters must learn that free choice of clothing will not go unnoticed for their lifestyles. In conclusion, school life is a microcosm of adulthood, and teens ought to prepare for it by accumulating qualifications as well as an understanding that there will be consequences to their own choices. Requiring uniforms for two years, and allowing students to make up their own minds for one year may be the best option for both schools and students.