Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the sum of girls and boys in each course of a college must be proportionate. I certainly disagree with this notion because it can demotivate students and affect the reputation of an institute. Firstly, only a few children from each gender group will be able to secure a seat in a subject if admission is given on gender basis. In other words, several deserving children may fail to receive admission even if they are more deserving, which will demotivate them and may also lead to depression. For instance, most of the colleges in India provide admission to students through an entrance exam. What is more, it helps in maintaining a healthy competition among students and encourages them to secure a place in a a college. Secondly, if the seats in each course will be reserved for a particular gender then the quality of education may get hampered. This is to say that less deserving students will also be able to study in a college resulting in poor performance, and hence the poor results. Moreover, Universities depend on the outcomes of their students to maintain reputation. To exemplify, according to an article published in the Global magazine in 2016 in India, several reputed schools in north India do not admit students in next class if they fail to score more than 75% marks in their previous class. Thus, it is imperative to admit students on the basis of their capability, which will also enhance the visibility of that college. To conclude, I disagree that universities should maintain the number of male and female pupil balanced in each subject since it demoralizes children and also detrimental for an institution's reputation.