Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

Nowadays, higher education is critical for both men and women. It is considered that tertiary education institutes should accept the same number of female and male students in every course. I strongly disagree with this view, because this may de-motivate them from learning and placement in subjects should be according to the ability. To begin with, enrolling students in a subject without their interest may hinder their learning ability. If they are placed equally in different subjects, it would discourage them from learning due to the lack of interest in it. This, in turn, would have repercussions on their future career aspect. Research, for example, indicates that a group of students in Japan when places in a subject without considering their interest in it had been noticed significantly to stop learning it. Furthermore, students should be given admission on a subject according to their ability. This is because every student has different capabilities in different subjects. In other words, some learners might be proficient in the science subject, others may be better in the art subject. A recent study, for instance, has found that female students perform 50% better than their male counterparts in the art subject. Thus, it is not beneficial to enrol an equal number of male and female students in the same subject. In conclusion, it is believed that higher education institutes should enrol an equal number of men and women students in all subjects. However, I fully disagree with this assertion, since it may result in discouraging them from learning, as well as enrolling in a subject should be based on the ability of a student.