Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Equality between men and women has always been an issue in societies all around the world. Some believe that universities ought to consent to equal numbers of male and female students in all subjects. However, I disagree on this issue that the capacity of each subject should be equal for men and women students due to the lack of practicality and fairness. The first reason that the numbers of male and female students accepted by universities should not be equal in every subject is that it will definitely be impractical. since some subjects are not appropriate and also not popular for both genders, the opportunity for students of one gender in a specific subject might be eliminated. For an instance, some subjects such as nursing, clothes designing, and interior designing are more popular among female students whereas some other subjects such as civil engineering and mechanics are more desirable for male students. In addition, job opportunities may be influenced by this issue. If there was a shortage of male mechanics, some of the subject-related projects would not be carried out. Another good reason for inequality in the numbers of male and female students in all university subjects can be the fact that it will not be fair. Some meritorious students may lose their chance to be accepted in the particular subject if the capacity of the course is divided equally, which is frustrating for students. So, I believe that the numbers of seats for each subject should not be based on the gender. In conclusion, universities ought not to accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject due to being practical and fair. The capacity of each subject had better be based on merit not gender.