As most people spend a major of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Undoubtedly, a full-time job has always been an integral part of most people’s lives. Since it is said that majority of the adult life is dedicated to working, job satisfaction is a significant element in people’s health and happiness. There are several factors which can lead to job satisfaction. However, I believe the expectation that all people can be satisfied with their working condition and get full enjoyment is unrealistic. There are several factors which can result in job satisfaction. Firstly, workers’ interests might be influential in enjoying the work they carry out. In my opinion, the stronger interests people have in their job, the higher motivation they get to take on the work and do it properly. Another effective factor can be the sense of fulfillment workers feel after work completion and getting promotion. When they monitor their progress day by day, for example, they get motivated and it may lead to higher sense of responsibility they develop. Besides, they become good team players and can co-operate with others well. The last but not least, the amount of money people gain as the salary can play an important role in job satisfaction. When people get more money in a fulfilling job, they get encouraged to carry out their work with the sense of happiness and satisfaction. Of course, all people in a society are not expected to enjoy their working conditions. Sometimes, the need for money forces people to find a permanent job regardless of their interests. For instance, due to the rising inflation in my country, people have to find a well-paid job or work overtime just for gaining money. They have to overwork, therefore, to make a living and there sometimes seems to be no balance between their work and life and they cannot spend their time with their family members and friends and enjoy their lives; which may lead to physical or mental health problems. In conclusion, even though there are a lot of factors such as people’s interests, stimulating working conditions, and income which cause job satisfaction, it is unrealistic expectation that all workers are likely to be satisfied and content with their jobs.