Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

The discussion on whether households are able to make betterment on the environment is becoming more intense. In spite of some people are convinced that the authorities and large coporates are the mere way to improve the environment, I believe individuals' actions are important as well. To commence with, the large companies' decisions are based on different demands of the general public. When the households are willing to sacrifice their comfortable lives for the environment, the policies of great firms may alter and thus help saving the environment. Take straws as an example, there was a promotion about abandoning straws when customers buy their drinks. After this event is heated up, the big companies such as McDonalds started not to provide straws to their customers when they serve cold drinks. This proves how actions of individuals can lead to ripple effects, changing the large companies' policies and therefore protect the environment. Some people argued that the government is the leader of the society. Only if the authorities promote environmentalism, the behaviours of individuals will change. Hence the government is solely responsible to prevent undesirable effects on environment. Despite getting the supports from government is vital to protect the Earth, the behaviours of individuals mean a lot too. The non-government organisations did a lot as well, to promote the importance of protecting the environment. For instance, Green Peace in Hong Kong holds an envent each year which the participants are required to switch off their lights for an hour on that day. Although it seems weak and not as powerful as orders from the authorities, this event spreads the idea of saving this planet. Thus people are paying more attention on their actions and try harder to improve the envronment. In conclusion, the actions from individuals mean as much as the policies of governments and ginormous firms, either in changing the behaviours of the public or spreading the idea of protecting the environment.