Universities are becoming increasingly expensive to operate. In some countries, money from taxation has met these costs. However, this is not always enough to maintain the quality of universities.

Firstly, educational establishments can finance themselves using internally generated funds. These funds include tuition, library fees money generated from certificates, alumni as well as cash collected from the public use of the university's facilities. For instance, the university halls/auditorium can be used by the public for their events during weekends and fees are paid in return. Also, if the school is regularly patronised, large chunk of the resources can be gotten in return. Additionally, varsities can make a substantial amount of money by leasing out spaces to banks and other establishments to carry-on businesses within the campus. An example of this is the presence of banks and cafes in the school premises. In fact, apart from the generated fund, the school stands a chance to benefit from the company's corporate social responsibility. In short, internally generated fund is Paramount in financing an educational establishment. Also, another point to be considered in ways to fund an institute is by investments. Educational institutions can generate financial resources from the return on investments. Colleges can venture into the capital market trading This can be successfully achieved, if the services of experts in the capital market fields are hired. For example, participation of schools in the forex trading. More also, funds can be kept in a fixed deposit account for a reasonable period of time in order to generate the targeted interest for the smooth running of the tertiary institution. Furthermore, universities can venture into a real estate business to also generate funds. For instance, low cost houses can be built in hectares of land to generate resources. Overall, returns from Strategic investments can effectively run an institute. In conclusion, funding of varsities of a standard quality requires substantial funds which cannot be achieved solely from the cash from taxation. Going forward, educational institutions can be financed using internally generated revenues as well as returns from investments.