STUDENTS SHOULD BE TAUGHT ACADEMIC KNOWLEDGE SO THAT THEY CAN PASS EXAMS, AND SKILLS SUCH AS COOKING OR DRESSING SHOULD NOT BE TAUGHT.

Acquiring academic knowledge through subjects such as mathematics, chemistry or physics is deemed by some to be more important for students than gaining life skills like cooking or dressing. In my opinion, this idea is flawed because of the following reasons. Firstly, much of the knowledge related to academic subjects has few practical uses, and students can use it only for completing school assignments at school or taking tests. For example, in Vietnam, students have to learn many complex math equations in school which cannot be applied in daily life but can only be used for passing exams. Secondly, learning life skills can inspire students and develop their potential. They can have more career options to choose from after graduating from school and university. For example, my sister learned cooking in primary school which developed her passion for it. Now she has become an accomplished chef. Therefore, I believe that skills such as cooking and dressing should be included as a compulsory part of the school curriculum. Moreover, gaining necessary skills such as cooking and dressing can make students become more self-confident and well-rounded. For example, when choosing to move to other countries to study, young people will be able to take care of themselves if they are equipped with such skills. In addition, being taught at school how to dress appropriately for various occasions will be very useful for students in many situations in daily life. To illustrate, they can choose suitable outfits to make a positive impression on potential employers when attending an interview or make themselves attractive when taking part in a party. In conclusion, although learning academic knowledge is important for students to pass exams, I believe that skills such as cooking and dressing should also be included in the school curriculum because they can make students become more self-confident and well-rounded.