Universal free healthcare should be abolished as a person should be held responsible for their own health and wellbeing. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of free healthcare?

It has been argued that it is the individual citizen who should be responsible for their own health and not the state and that therefore, a free system of healthcare available to all is not required and should be abolished. This essay will show that the main advantage of free healthcare is that everyone, whatever their income status, has access to a basic level of care, whereas a major disadvantage is that such a system inevitably finds itself being abused. A free health system applies equally to rich and poor alike. Therefore, people on low incomes can have medical attention when it is needed without worrying about whether they can afford it or not. For example, before the NHS (National Health System) in the UK was created after WW2, it is estimated that over 100, 000 people died annually due to being unable to pay for treatments for some serious illnesses. As a result of the creation of such a free system, no one need suffers unnecessarily because of the lack of money. However, as such a system depends upon free and open access, there is the possibility of it being abused. There have been many stories in recent years of "health tourists", foreigners having expensive treatment for which they are not entitled. For example, the NHS itself estimated in 2015 that over 50 million pounds per annum was going on ELPS these foreign visitors and not being repaid. The consequence of this is that funds which should be spent on UK patients is being diverted elsewhere and not to where it should be intended for. In conclusion, although free healthcare, regardless of income, is undoubtedly a significant advantage to poor citizens, the potential for misuse of the system and its valuable resources by undeserving foreigners is possibly its biggest disadvantage.