1. The use of cars is increasing day by day. Why people use cars a lot. How can we encourage people to use other means of transportation? Discuss.

Unarguably, the salad days of the millennium have witnessed people using cars in abundance. The aftermaths are devastating and to some extent inevitable; however, some prudent decisions may curb this predicament. An attempt is made through this essay to unveil the remedial measures to tide over this impediment. The first and foremost reason for people using cars enormously is the amount of comfort these provide to the riders, for modern cars are equipped with state-of-the-art features and shield the riders in the most extreme weather conditions, such as blistering heat, intense cold, torrential rain and so forth. Moreover, automobile companies have made possessing cars feasible, by bringing down the prices of the car and by giving lucrative offers and low-interest payments through installments, which in turn, contribute to creating havoc on roads in the form of wayward traffic, escalation in the number of mishaps and what not. The solutions, however, are elusive, but not out of reach. Stimulating people in droves to use public transport more by reducing the fare and increasing the facilities is also a notion to be considered on a high priority basis. What’s more, car pooling is another prudent method to ponder on, as it will aid in reducing the number of vehicles on roads. And to mitigate traffic congestion within the city, people’s preference for using a bicycle to cover the short distances, instead of using vehicles that run on fossil fuels can do wonders, as it will assist in decelerating the level of pollution. To cap it all, although easy access to cars has brought about one of the most pressing problems of this century in the form of traffic escalation and pollution, yet the solutions mentioned in the penultimate paragraph can prove to be a boon to curb this grave peril.