Due to technological advances, many people now have the opportunity to work remotely via the internet. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in technology such as the Internet mean that many people are able to work away from the traditional office whether at home or abroad. I firmly believe the benefits to this outweigh the drawbacks. This essay will show that having the freedom to choose your own hours and location of working clearly outweighs the main disadvantage, which is a tendency to procrastinate. Freedom is clearly the major plus point of remote working. As long as you get your work done, it does not matter what hours you worked to achieve this. For example, research by the University of York showed that 85% of bosses had no preference as to their remote employees' working hours, so long as their projects were completed on time and within budget. Additionally, being able to choose your working location is a significant benefit to remote workers. Given the choice, not many people would choose cold, rainy England over an exotic beach location to work in. The website nomadlist. com reported that aside from cheapness, 95% of their subscribers said that the reason they became remote workers was so they could leave their home country and live abroad in a warm climate. However, the tendency to waste time and work inefficiently could well be a significant disadvantage to the freedoms mentioned above. Despite this, it could be argued that those who take this option must be resourceful and strong-willed to leave their country for a new environment. In this case, their personal levels of motivation should be sufficient to ensure they stick to their work ethic. In conclusion, the advantages of personal freedom clearly outweigh the potential disadvantage of timewasting and ineffective working practices.