unidirectional charging, unidirectional discharging

According to (7), it is clear that the processing time of one step, αTi, is a function of sumαt. In another word, by setting sumαt, the operation of the equalizer can be decided as unidirectional charging, unidirectional discharging, and bi-directional implementation, while the total operation time can be minimized. In addition, with an optimal value of sumαt, the processing time is minimized the total processing time of the operation. By applying the proposed method for 20 series-connected battery cells (which have similar initial conditions to the setup in Section 3), the relationship between sumαt and Ttotal is shown in Fig. 4. The curve shows that the value of sumαt is higher the Ttotal is higher too and the cell-equalizer is implemented in the pack-to-cell mode. In contrast, if the value of sumαt goes to negative infinitive, Ttotal goes to infinitive and the cell-equalizer is implemented in the cell-to-pack mode. For any SOC initial scenarios, the sumαt versus Ttotal curve is a parabola function. Obviously, there is always existing a value of sumαt that makes the total processing-time becomes minimum. In the test in Section 3, the SOC initial is randomly set from 30% to 60% and the sumαt is 0. 3 based on the parabola function curve.