Understanding the past is of little use for current leadership

While it is true that the leaders will be making most of their dicesions depending upon current affairs, I disagree with the statement that, knowing the past is of little use. Making important inferences and acting on the same, requires a fair knowledge on past circumstances, be it political, social or economical. Being a leader of a community, it becomes inevitable for him/her to ingore the previous conditions of the community that he/she is serving as the leader atleast. For example think of a village which has suffered from drought in the earlier years, the person taking up the leadership now should know that, the village has water scarcity issues and the funds are supposed to be used mainly on addressing this particular issue instead of developing cattle sales, which is not a major issue the people are facing. And it crucial to address such issues because if ignored, there might be a fair chance that the village might be a victim of draught again in the near future. Acting without knowing the past conditions might result in a leadership that is haphazard. However, it is reasonable that the leader need not know every petty detail about the past that was long ago, as they don't serve any useful purpose in making current decisions. For example, the leader may choose to ignore the fact that the village was called by some other name a century ago and was renamed. So, in conclusion, while it is uneniably important for a person taking up the position of the current leader, to know about the past as they might play a significant role in making crucial decisions, he/she can ignore the petty details which don't add any value to the decisions that are to be made in the current world.