Some people think it is cruel to keep animals in zoos.

Keeping animals in zoos is an important issue today. Proponents of animal rights say that it it cruel to cage animals for entertainment, whereas others believe that zoos are necessary for the protection and survival of many vulnerable species. I will outline both arguments and argue that imprisoning animals for our own entertainment is both cruel and unnecessary. One of the reasons why people are in favour of zoos is that they believe the animals are safe and protected. Unfortunately this is not always the case. Just because they are kept safe from hunters and predators does not necessarily mean that they are happy and healthy. Indeed many animals show signs of abnormal repetitive behaviour when they are confined to small spaces and unable to behave as they would in the wild. People also argue that zoos serve an educational purpose and that they are vital for conservation. Again, it is true that the high entrance fees fund research that could ultimately save a species from extinction, but this only takes place in a handful of zoos and does not excuse the torment that animals have to endure from busloads of children banging on glass windows and rattling their cages. There is one final argument that is often cited in defence of zoos. That is that they are merely a form of entertainment and that training animals such as seals and killer whales to perform tricks for visitors keeps them mentally alert and physically fit. In my view, this is no better than the abuse of animals in circuses, most of which have now thankfully been banned. On balance, I am not in favour of keeping animals in captivity because to my mind zoos are like prisons. If the main aim of a zoo is to protect endangered species, it is by far preferable to breed animals in private nature reserves, away from the public eye as they have done very successfully with the panda conservation programme in China.