Understanding of sound events in urban scenarios based on artificial intelligence

I am writing to express my interest to continue my studying as a Doctoral student in the field of Informatics Engineering, as it has always been my goal to become a successful researcher in this field. Based on the work developed during my Master’s programme and complementary activities, I intend to enhance my knowledge in modelling real and applicable systems and improve my research skills. While studying for my Master's degree in the Electronics and Computer Engineering department of the Kharazmi University, and working as a computer expert programmer, I developed a strong interest on the fields of signal processing, computer vision, artificial intelligence and machine learning. I believe the best way to achieve my goal in the research areas of signal processing, modelling and machine learning, is by pursuing a Doctorate’s degree. Considering my previous works during my Master’s degree in artificial intelligence in the Kharazmi University of Tehran, combined with my work experience as a skilled programmer at Join Islamic Azad University of Shahroud Research Team, I am ensuring that a Doctorate’s degree is going to give me a step closer to my goal of becoming a successful researcher in the signal processing, artificial intelligence and machine learning research fields. I believe that I am a strong candidate for a Doctorate’s degree related to audio signal processing and understanding based on my good scores in Special Topics courses where I worked on discrete time signal processing (BSc) and image processing, pattern recognition and machine learning (MSc). I have already worked on audio processing and analysis topics such as for emotion recognition from audio, vowel recognition, speech recognition and audio command detection. In the meantime, I have also studied in great depth denoising algorithms, especially for images. However, an area that has gained my particular attention is audio understanding, mainly due to its mathematical related nature. Hence, I have developed research using probabilistic approaches for stochastic process and noise modulation. Finally, to be a Doctoral student in FEUP with a scholarship from FCT is an opportunity for me to enhance my skills in signal processing, artificial intelligence and machine learning, and to contribute to the scientific community in the best way, mainly by publishing relevant scientific contributions in peer-reviewed conferences and journals. Moreover, I feel I am responsible for making a big move in this area and this scholarship will give me a big chance to be one day someone who is remembered for his innovations. I think it is our duty as people sharing life in this world to make our future better because the future is not only ours. I believe my qualifications, the selected Doctorate’s programme and the scholarship from FCT are an excellent fit.