Should an ordinary man be given a license to keep a revolver and gun?

Sometimes a sort of suggestion is raised which states that common natives be authorized by providing them with the licence of lethal weapons, namely revolver and gun. In this context, I strongly show my consent for which I am going to highlight a couple of legitimate reasons in my upcoming paragraphs. This is due to the fact that the present days are full of uncertainties as crime rates are increasing day by day. Therefore, to feel self-protected there is a necessity to possess the ammunition. Robberies, sexual assaults, for instance, is escalating. These kinds of incidents can be tackled by the people as they would feel more security by ceasing the crime on the spot. By this, the perpetrator would think twice to carry out such illegal activities. There is an added benefit of having arms, the crime rate will be plunged rapidly. To explain this as it would be easier for people to deal with any sort of harassment or any kinds of unpredictable situations. This would surely assist cops in terms of responsibility or we can say the burden to get decreased. This is all because of freedom a person may feel to take his or her decisions on the spot of any illegal activity. To sum up, I must say an ordinary man should be allowed to possess weapons through licence provided by the government in order to keep society free from any illegal activities to some extent.