Under british laws a jury in a criminal vase jas no acces to information aboit defebdabt's past criminal record. Some lawyers have suggested, that jusy shkuld be given all the past facts.

The legislation of Britain does nor allow their honorable jury members to get acquainted with the previous criminal record of the accused, even though many lawyers have vouched in favour of publishing the record to the jury. I agree with the statement of the lawyers, since valuable information about defendant's character shouldd ensure the transparency of the judgement. Certain demographics stand against the access of jury to past information about the criminal since it has the potential to hamper the trial by creating biasness in the jury members. An underprivileged person, who had to grow up in absence of a proper guardian is expected to be a delinquent in the traditional belief system, consequently this record can portray a false picture about the person in defendant's box, that he can commit crime, whereas in reality that person might be innocent in the current trial. Concealing these documents enables the jury members reach a judgement based on present charecteristics of the accused, present in front of them. On the other hand, past history helps in reaching the ultimate conclusion in terms of the act of the criminal at crime site by identifying the behaviour pattern of a criminal. A case without adequate evidence can be proved by the help of criminal psychology. This can be exemplified by the fact that, rapists have the tendency to indulge in improper activities with fellow female persons, be it a colleague or a batchmate or even some random woman, in an isolated place. Thus transparency of data can help the accused also. It provides the accused with an opportunity to prove his innocence, if he successfully maintained other's civil rights, and at the time same time diligently followed his duties as a citizen in the past. Considering all this, A mere slip of judgement due to emotional outburst can be then forgiven with fine and community service. Basically, from a broader perspective abruption free flow of information to the jury can help the reach the proper verdict. In conclusiom, although previous criminal records may affect the mindset of the jury, which may interfere in the important decisions regarding sentencing, both past and present activity should be contributing factor in reaching the verdict.