Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practise should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a famous maxim, "Always learn from past and make future better. Information about the past may help the jury in taking right decision. Some lawyers think that this practice should be supersede and it is necessary for the authorities to know about the past record of the lawbreaker. Thus, I partly agree with the statement and think that pointing out past record aggravate the problem of offender in future. On the one hand, past record of the offender helps the authority and provide useful information about him or her. In some cases, lawyer's try to hide the original facts about the felony. Ergo, evidences about the past wouldn't prevent the offender. For instance, some individual have feral behavior and often commits crime, written record of such person cajole the decision of judges. On the other hand, law enforcement agencies are made to take decision not for the past but only for the present. So, decision-making process must be depend on the crime scene. Sometimes, offender become a scapegoat, and punished for those crimes in which he/she involved by mistake. Due to this, main criminal go scot free. In conclusion, I think that decision making not only pivob around the past record. Pre-requisite must be the crime scene and current situation for law enforcement agencies.