In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today`s world?

In the going-on debate over whether a variety of subjects or narrow limits are better to children in the secondary school period, people hold opposite views. In the following paragraphs, I will conduct a further discussion on this issue and expound my points. Those people who in favor of the former point believe that a large limit of subjects could support children own more competition in current society. In their point, the roles of secondary school played in children’s education has changed. In the past, a number of students went to job market immediately in a situation about a heavy demand of jobs. However, nowadays, higher education seems to be the easiest way to enhance competitiveness to get promising careers in the increased competition. Thus, general education is more appropriate for students to go to college, it becomes more significant to everyone. Nevertheless, some people argue that students who are not willing to go to college could also be adapt to the modern society, because there is still a demand for particular jobs in society. But today’s world is changing on a daily basis, what students learned today might be useless on tomorrow. Many job opportunities are disappearing, while new jobs appear into our life constantly. According to this situation, it seems to be more crucial for students to learn how to study rather than what they learn. Assuming that student only focus on those practical skills, such as welding, woodworking and so on, they are likely to recognize that they are out of touch with the world owing to those jobs could be instead by robots in the near future. As for me, I support the former part of people. I agree that general education gives students better chances to go to college, and more capability to adapt to the changing world.