under british and australia laws a jury in a criminals case has no access information about the defendant's past criminal record.

i believe that it is not true or false to consider the defendant' past criminal record in the present' sentence. a nation should choose which option is the most appropriate. personally, i suppose that combination between the past' s sentence with guilty activities in the present to take the final decision is the most suitable. firstly, in the past a person who had a bad behaviour a get an official sentence, and now continue to do those illegal things such as: stealing, murdering, or so forth. that illustrates that person have not regretted in their behaviors and wanted to be a good citizen. so, a more serious sentence is more appropriate. and it can be seemed to be a threatening or warming to that criminal. also, it show that laws which is strict to people who is naughty and disobedient, and generous, tolerant to people who are aware of their own illegal activities and able to improve their personality. secondly, taking a decision based on the previous events will be equal to the first time-guilty-citizens. a person who is the first time to practice a illegal activity, while, those who are the second or third time to repeat this activity. both of them receive the same sentence. so, is it still appropriate? that will result to argument, opposed opinions, anger of both criminals' family and public. conclusion, laws and making-law-person can not be perfect and equal to everyone in any perspective. so, the best way to protect yourself from the disadvantageous or imperfect point in laws is not to be guilty.