TV programmes influence children to a great extent.

In the past, there were limited programmes telecasted on T. V. these programmes may include religious, educational and news. However, today there is an increase in the number of programmes shown on T. V. Looking at this trend, one must analyse the advantages and disadvantages of T. V. programmes for children. There are multiple advantages of various T. V. programmes for children. Firstly, there are many informative programmes like Public broadcasting services and discovery, which may have the potential to make the children more aware and teach them how to survive in this world. Secondly, some programmes on T. V. helps children to know more about their interest, which may help them to select the field of their concern. For example, my nephew recognised his interest in becoming a pilot after watching a T. V. show called Air Crash Investigation. On the other hand, few people might complain about the disadvantages of T. V. programmes for children. Innocent children are badly affected by crime-related programmes, which may change their perception of the world and make them violent. Similarly, cartoons are the most liked programmes by youngsters. These programmes have special effects which addict the children to a greater extent. Children may get so addicted they may avoid playing physical games and rather sit at home watching cartoons. For example, my younger brother was too addicted to cartoon programmes he used to avoid going out to play physical games, which affected his health and compromised his eyesight. In summary, children can gain more knowledge about the world and life they may also find their field of interest, which will not necessarily be available anywhere else. Television here brings the knowledge sources to them, which they might not able to get in person. On the contrary, some children may display violent behaviour and may also suffer from health issues.