ielts writing task 2 -changes

Some people encourage changes, arguing that it is a good thing; others, however, do not find themselves agreeing with the notion of changes so much. They favored a monotonous lifestyle that comes with stability. While it sounds more appealing to people because we’re used to the same lifestyle and changes mean instability and chaos, I argue that people should embrace the idea of changes as it allows us to have a more exciting life and broaden our horizon. Firstly, some people hate changes because it will take them perhaps a large amount of time and energy to adapt into a new lifestyle that they’re originally not familiar with and one that they probably might not like so much. For example, a friend of mine from Huntsville, Alabama once spoke to me about the immigration reforms in the USA and mentioned how people in the community strongly opposed the bill because it would mean that they’re no longer able to enjoy the same lifestyle, the lifestyle of middle class white families, for example going to Church on Sunday and perhaps watch football at night. With the influx of perhaps Mexican immigrants, they have to start learning Mexican cultures and therefore are not able to have the same life as before. Therefore, almost all the people he knew are not in favor of this immigration reform because they’re afraid of changes and fearful of differences. However, we should not ignore the benefits of changes as it will broaden our horizon and perhaps make our lives more captivating. Without innovative inventions, human beings wouldn’t be able to enjoy a higher standard of life. Originally, I wasn’t interested in studying abroad because I’m not an avid or a good English speaker or reader. However, things started to change when I had the pleasure to visit Oxford and Cambridge a couple years ago. I was especially attracted by the ancient buildings of Oxford colleges, namely Balliol college and Christ Church. It was the eureka moment I decided to study abroad as an undergraduate and there has been no looking back since high school. I started to read English literature, philosophy, political theory and economics as I’m mostly interested in the course module of Philosophy, Politics and Economics, which allows me eventually to have a better understanding of the interactions between these subjects and in the meantime broaden my knowledge base. These subjects questioned me about lots of things that we thought were norms but in fact are not, and helped me a lot with my critical thinking and problem solving skills. Although I did not get into Oxford eventually, I’m certain that without this travel, I would end up an avid gamer and not a thinker and having a boring career. I argue that change allows us to enjoy different things and lead a more fascinating life. To summarize, although some people appreciate the benefits of stability and uniform lifestyle, I argue that changes can lead us into a thrilling adventure and think about things from different aspects. Therefore, I prefer changes.