Daeyoush Ashuri: A Man Who Loves Persian

Dãryūš Ašuri, Iranian writer and intellectual, has made enormous contributions to the modernisation of Persian language. He has two main roles in the reformation of Persian. First, he has done considerable works in the reformation of the Persian lexicon and the creation of the new words in this language. He has worked many years trying to create new words for new concepts that Persian has not become familiar with them in its history. Regarding this purpose, he has translated some of the political and philosophical western books to Persian, including Thomas More's book called Utopia and Nietzsche's Thus Spoke Zarathustra. He also published an English to Persian dictionary called Farhang-e Olūm-e Ensāni. In this book, he has suggested Persian synonyms for Social-Human sciences terms. Secondly, he has done unforgettable researches about Persian in the Modern world. In this area, he has explored the evolution of Persian in the Modern world and showed the effects of Western languages on it, especially French and English. He also has examined the influence of sociopolitical circumstances on language and explained why Persian is not prepared and perfect for the Modern world. Furthermore, by using a comparative method, he has made useful recommendations for the improvement of Persian. In summary, Dãyūš Ašūri is an admirable intellectual who spent his life serving the Persian language.