Travel should broaden the mind and lead to better understanding, but it often fails to do so. Discuss

One myth of modern day travelling is that it actively encourages empathy – feeling the emotional state of others. While reality suggests almost nothing alike, I would argue that tourism can facillitate the learning of this social tool to a certain degree. In hindsight, people would have been dissuaded with reports of tourists misunderstanding with the local people and their culture, sometimes resulting in violent clashes. The truth is, even if given the luxury of travelling, some simply lacks the ability to adapt to a new enviroment, as a consequence of hardly ever stepping outside the comfort zone. As for the tourist destination itself, it too has faults to blame for, in the sense of misleading advertising and artificial placeholders alienating its customers, most of whom paid to experience novelty. Nevertheless, exposure to a vastly different culture does wonders to a person. It effectively enables us to take an expansive outlook on the world itself, in which the community that we reside is no bigger than a microscope. It also teaches us that there are other people, coming from all walks of life, share thoughts in some ways similar to ours. And lastly, it explains the various methods of performing a particular action that, when we inspect, we would almost always take the most conventional path. Moreover, by taking a trip, one get to appreciate the fact that difference is never wrong. Just as there are people of colors and people of indigenous origins, In summary, tourism lives up to its own goal: to increase peoples’ awareness of the cross-culture diversity, and to promote understanding.