Traffic jam is one of the most serious issues that people in big cities are facing today. What do you think are the problems associated with this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, it is obvious that the congestion in nearly all over the world is on the increase and cities are becoming busier. Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for most of people, especially who live in big cities, are suffering from that. This essay will discuss the problems that traffic jam may cause and presents some possible solutions to tackle these problems. One of the first problems of traffic jam is unsafe driving. In crowded traffic, it is difficult to avoid collisions between vehicles, that is the reason why it may lead to road mishaps and hence injuries. Moreover, people may get psychologically affected such as: high tension, anger and frustration. Since people experience delays for their important work, this may even result in personal as well as professional losses. Another major problem is the traffic congestion and constant blowing of horns create excessive noise pollution. In addition, it is also the main cause of wastage of fuels and air pollution. Vehicles have to wait for a long time to move out of the jam due to slow speed, longer trip time and increased queues of vehicles. This problem can be dealt with in various ways. First, public transportation is the easiest way to solve this trouble. Government should increase the quality of public transport by providing frequent services. In addition, fares of government transportation should also be reduced in order to promote it. Another measure is to construct wide roads and bridges so that traffic can move smoothly during peak hours. Furthermore, separate cycle lanes should be constructed and people should be encouraged to ride bicycles. Finally, government should charge the congestion fee for every car that will go into a city centre. It will either discourage people from driving into that area, or raise more money for public transportation. To sum up, traffic jam is a serious issue in every big city that causes several problems for common people. However, it can be tackled by developing public transport and making rules stringent.