Traffic jam is a problem in many towns and cities. Some people suggest that governments build wider roads in order to solve the problem.

Migration from villages to towns and cities is the major cause for increase in the population. The process of developing a city/town demands extension of roads due to increase in vehicles. This essay discusses the reasons for road widening and the appropriate measures to be taken by the government and also few disadvantages which might curb the cultural diversity of the region. With increase in population, vehicles too increase which leads to accidents and also cause delays in regular activities of life. The interstate business also causes many deaths of the population as heavy vehicles occupy the major part of the road. Government has intervened to reduce accidents and deaths on the road by laying outer ring road in the cities for smooth journey to other states. Diversion of heavy vehicles to ORR and formulating rules for these vehicles if they run on the busy roads of the cities is also a major step taken. To smoothen the lives of the population residing in cities and towns, Government has demolished those buildings which are constructed illegally occupying the space of the road. Furthermore, it has also taken an extreme step to demolish old heritage sites which may crumble in the near future and cause threat to life of the citizens. It has not only widened the roads, but also, has constructed many fly-overs as well as underpass roads for easy diversion of routes. The only dark side which I see is demolition of old monuments because the cultural heritage is lost and might not attract enough tourists. To pen down, Government is right in its way, which reduces the life threatening accidents and deaths helping many families to live happily not losing their family members.