Traffic is a problem everywhere in the world. It creates congestion, pollution, and noise. In response, some cities charge an expensive tax to cars in downtown areas. Do you agree with this tax?

In today’s modern world, transportation overcrowding has been considered as a problematic question to be solved in worldwide level. As a solution, plenty of cities impose a heavy tax upon cars in their urban extent, which has captured an endless of public attention and criticism from economic sector. Personally, I incline to believe that cars bring worthier values than their disadvantages. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons in levying a costly tax on cars. First off, it is undeniable that tariffing can benefit not only environment but also economy. In fact, to procure a car may cost more than ten times purchasing a motorbike, now due to its multifold burden on budgets, high-priced car duty will strongly curb people’s desire to obtain that kind of vehicle. This will definitely reduce polluted air released out the atmosphere. Moreover, this sort of excise contributes a significant part to the government budgets. Take England as an example, it can be rarely seen a motorbike on the downtown streets, and this nation attain much more money for national spendings than Thailand which can barely collect taxes from its incredible rate of motorbike. So that, it is reasonable when putting a substantial toll on car’s owner. However, in my opinion, reducing cars does not mean that government could rein in traffic jam. Instead of buying a car with high price including terrible taxes but carrying the whole family, people could choose to buy motorbikes for each member in their home. This horrible perspective will definitely make the congestion in metropolitan zone get worse and extremely worse. Furthermore, not only could a car carry four to seven people but also weighty goods, this lowers the number of accidents which are because of carrying unwieldy things by motorbikes. As the consequence, the government should not charge that prohibitive tax to cars for the residents’ safety and convenience. In conclusion, great effort in solving traffic problem by taxing on cars sounds equitable since its environmental and financial benefits. The way I see things, even so, cars are more protecting and expedient for people to travel around than some sorts of motorbikes. Thus, the authority is not encouraged to be too strict and put a severe expensive tax to cars.