Traffic is a major problem in bigger cities of India; govt is planning to increase fuel prices in order to reduce traffic on the streets. Do you agree with the Governments proposal or not, if you don’t agree suggest a better way to reduce traffic.

In this day and age, Surface vehicular movement is a big issue in most of the metropolitan cities around the world. There is a view that hike in petroleum products would alleviate/decrease the traffic concerns. In my opinion, I don’t agree with the aforementioned proposal simply because of impending financial consequences, instead I would recommend authorities to develop infrastructure. To begin with, there are some financial constraints. This is because, increase in petrol may hike prices of the essentials commodities. For example, if the price of petrol risen, we live in a dependent transport oriented society, price rise is inevitable, poor people cant afford, only rich can sustain leading to inflation. In contrast, at the same time, traffic does nt stop because most of the people are dependent on their own vehicles for work. As a result, it is creating new problem instead of controlling. Secondly, developing infrastructure may ease traffic problems. The reason is many improvements will factor the increasing traffic conditions and make adjustments to the existing facilities for free movement of vehicles. For example, Building flyover, widening roads, and innovative approaches like we ll designed metro services from the past experiences had proven effective in curbing traffic problems. On the contrary, services like metro will decrease traffic without interfering with the normal road based traffic. Thus, it is important to develop facilities. In conclusion, developing infrastructure may ease the traffic problems. But rising the price of petrol won't change the traffic problems.