International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

It is believed that international tourism does wonders in bringing overall development of a place while the concerns about its effects on local culture and environment also remain. I, however, am of the opinion that international tourism remains as a boon for a nation. The pros and cons of the same are discussed hereafter. Firstly, regional, social and economic development of a place happens at a fast pace when it becomes a hot spot international as well as domestic tourists. This lands various favourable prospects for small businesses and opens numerous job opportunities fot the locals. For example, the development of cafe`s and souveneir shops benefits the local economy immensely. People find jobs in such hotels and resteraunts. Some people sought to work as tour guides and the need for a translator is also provided for by the residents. Additionly, the government the government is enabled to use the taxes thus obtained for further betterment of the region. Also, the culture and traditions of a place are opened to the world by the visitors through the means of social media platforms such as Instagram and Youtube, encouraging greater number of tourists. Conversely, it is also stated that tourism results in increasing pollution, ultimately causing damage to the local biodiversity. Increased vulnerability of the regional flora and fauna is also observed in some cases. To add to this, the increasing Western influence was cited in the cities which are the main tourist attractions. All in all it can be said that even keeping the disadvantages in consideration, the advantages of international tourism remain greater. With a prospective assistance from local authorities to tackle the unfavourable aspects of it, international tourism serves to be favourable for growth of the locals and the country.