Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. What are the causes? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

Traffic congestion is becoming a great obstacle for many urban areas currently. From my perspective, I am inclined to believe that there are a number of factors contributing to this hardship, and some remedies could be used to tackle this problem. Congested traffic is caused by several elements. Firstly, there are too many citizens travelling in cites recently. This is because more individuals migrate to live in urban places, while infrastructure of transport becomes insufficient and is not improved enough. As a consequence, streets are overcrowded, which is the precursor of transport congestion. For example, in some metropolises which are overpopulated such as Bangkok, New Delhi and Hanoi, congested traffic is very frequent. Additionally, since people prefer using private vehicles rather than public transport, there are numerous vehicles travelling on streets, which can result in traffic congestion. However, these unfavorable circumstances can be addressed by a number of effective measures. Initially, the government should encourage citizens to travel by public transport such as buses and subways instead of individual vehicles. It would help to reduce the number of vehicles on roads, which can decrease congested traffic significantly. For instance, more funds should be spent on developing public transport system by governments such as low taxes and financial support. Furthermore, as there are an extremely high of private vehicles such as automobiles and motorbikes travelling in metropolitan areas recently, higher taxes should be imposed on them. If there are merely low taxes, people will continue using their individual vehicles instead of public transport, which is the forerunner of traffic congestion. To conclude, for the reasons mentioned above, I tend to believe that congested traffic is brought about by some considerations, and there are several efficient measures which can be used to deal with traffic congestion in many urban places.