Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many of the world's major cities. Explain some possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

Nowadays, traffic is the most important concern to metropolises. Overusing the transport system makes it vulnerable and causes some problems. Although rapidly increasing traffic issues, there are ways to tackle them. First of all, urban sprawl and unplanned urban growth have a significant negative impact on transportation system. This is because migration to big cities from suburbs is growing faster than before, confusing people to commute in overcrowded cities. For example, in the city where I live, we do not have either locomotive networks or public buses, only the mode of transportation is private cars. While the number of car users is going up, the roads are getting congested worst. To solve this problem, city authorities should devise urbanization programs and insufficient number of roads need to be widened. As a result, urban growth will be controlled and new routes will keep the traffic flowing. Secondly, another issue is substandard road conditions. For instance, in Astana, the capital of Kazakhstan, the quality of roads is below a satisfactory standard, so that the roads tend to get damaged, making difficult to use them for commuters. To tackle this problem, the government should allocate more budget on roadway constructions and also safe network of walking and cycling routes would be introduced to people in order to encourage public to use bikes instead of cars. As a result, city dwellers will use high standard roads, avoiding car accidents which most happen because of the quality of roads. In conclusion, unless the authorities implement the method to solve these problems, traffic will be continued.