Traditionally, elderly people have lived with and been cared for by younger family members. In modern society, more and more elderly people are living in special homes for the elderly. Why do you think families choose to have their elderly relatives live in special homes away from family?

In recent times, family structure has been modernised. Previously, parents used to live with their children, when they grow old. But these days, a change has been seen. Children are sending their parents to the nursing homes. There are reasons as to why younger family members chose this way. Firstly, in this modern world of science, many diseases have been researched and encountered. Old people tend to encounter the diseases like dementia and Alzheimer etc. Living with a demented family member not only requires medical assistance, but also require stage and the constant presence of the carer. In this growing world, where everyone is fighting for their own life, taking care of an elderly is hard and can be neglected. The special homes are made for people like them to be cared for. They can get constant quality care under the supervision of medical professionals. Secondly, as generations have changed, modern society has been evolved and so has the family cultures. Elderly people tend to follow their own strict lifestyles which they have been following for generations. For them, the change is hard. Living within the modern family with a house full of recent technology, elderly people feel neglected and lonely. It becomes hard for them to cope with those technological changes. Use of technology can be taught, but the younger generation does not possess the patience to guide their elder family members. In my opinion, if the modern family cannot spare time for their elderly parents then it is better to send them to the nursing home where at least they can be cared for, medically, socially and physically as well. But the younger family members should not only visit their elderly family members regularly, but also spend some quality date with them.